Smiling in the Rain

September 9, 2009

pluie

This morning when I opened the windows of my office, it was raining outside. It was not really a monsoon rain. It wasn’t hot, it wasn’t mad, it wasn’t diluvian. It wasn’t opaque. It was a bitter, cold, patient rain. The sort of rain I grew up with in Lorraine, grey and nasty. I used to hate it. I couldn’t bear the cold, I couldn’t bear the sadness of the sky. 

Indians love it – they think the weather of Lorraine is idyllic. I had never understood that. How could one delight in shivering? How could one enjoy being blue, frozen alive by a five-minute walk?

I used to loathe the rajasthani winter, its ruthless nights and painful mornings. 

But today when I opened the window and felt the oh so familiar chill of a bitter rain, I thought:

“NICE!”

I think I have been in India for too long.

4 Responses to “Smiling in the Rain”

  1. Sunny Side Says:

    Extreme is unbearable and your body knows it ! I read “nice” but I also think of ” Nice” … Blue sky heals a lot of disease !

  2. Sunny Side Says:

    Et ton permis de conduire ? Tes posts me manquent ….

  3. Lisette Says:

    I have been missing your posts and look forward to reading you again soon. Hope you are well!

  4. Yvonne Yvonne Says:

    Eh bien alors? T’es passé où? sous la pluie encore?
    kisses


Leave a Reply

