Old Friends Scattered Around the House

July 20, 2009

books

The painters have gone, but the flat still looks semi-desolate.

For some reason, the bookshelves ended up on the balcony, all my books scattered around the living room. Why don’t I give them away, I keep wondering. After all, I have read them, so why not let go of them?

In my house in France, it is the same. In my bedroom, there is no bed anymore, no shelves, but mountains of books. My mother keeps asking me what to do with them. Well, of course, keep them, I tell her.

They are not old clothes that you discard once they don’t fit any more. Books are friends, acquaintances, characters which have shaped your own.

Keep them. But don’t move house too often.

3 Responses to “Old Friends Scattered Around the House”

  1. Lisette Says:

    Glad to have you back! I find books hard to dispose of too… but recently I have started to give them away as presents – if they provided me with such pleasure, surely they should be shared with my nearest and dearest?

  2. Sunny Side Says:

    I could stay hours in library and it’s always great frustration not to buy them all ! Books are a map of ourselves and each one contains a secret of our heart ! Make a decorative wall with them !

  3. Kat Says:

    don’t get rid of your books, i love to look at the books i’ve read, they’re just a wonderful memory of feelings and memories!


Leave a Reply

