Grounded

April 16, 2009

 

grounded

 

Papa-ji is trying to ground me. I don’t know what I have done. 

There are two gates to my compound. During the day, both are open, at night only one is. Lately, none is.

The first time it happened, I gently shook the gate, counting on the famous pan-Indian hobby: spying on the neighborhood. I was right. It was only 10.30pm. Within 4 seconds, someone had come down to open the gate for me.

However, I was a little worried: I doubted I’d find any spy at 4am next time it’d happen.

I went to see Papa-ji and asked him what was the deal with the gates now.

“Well, you see beta, we keep one gate open at night, but then the chokidar locks it when he goes to sleep.”

The chokidar, fyi, is the night watchman. His job is to guard the gate between 8pm and 6am. He is not supposed to sleep. I worded this kind and humble opinion to Papa-ji.

He smiled.

“But anyway beta, you always get home before 11pm, don’t you?”

I sighed. When played dumb, play dumber.

“I’m afraid I don’t, Sir. Sometimes the prayer meetings end quite late.”

“Oh oh, I see, beta. Of course. Then we’ll have to organize a key for you.”

“That would be wonderful, Sir.”

6 Responses to “Grounded”

  1. Sunny Side Says:

    Hope you will get your key … It reminds me your post “Party” … gossips … one lonely woman … prayer meeting is perfect !

  2. Sister Says:

    Prayer meeting. No comment.

  3. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    I knoooow. Too funny, hein! I THINK he believed it.

  4. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    @ sunny side: yes, the things you have to make up to be left alone here!

  5. YVR Says:

    Prayer meeting? wow – quick thinking.

  6. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    Not sure he believed me though – just like I don’t believe him when he says he’ll send a carpenter tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

