Of Gems, Nietzsche and Bellinis

March 26, 2009

Maharani Sita Devi of Baroda, timeless beauty, wearing the famous Baroda necklace

Maharani Sita Devi of Baroda, timeless beauty, wearing the famous Baroda necklace

Most of my friends in Europe think I lead a very glamorous life.

They think a random day of my life in Jaipur involves wearing chiffon saris and diamonds bestowed on me by maharajas. Ordering servants around. Playing with piles of semi-precious gems and drinking bellinis in the cool marble shade of summer palaces.

I wish.

I wish I were…

...wearing chiffon saris…

I would love wearing chiffon saris every day but the reality is different. At the moment, it’s more cotton salwar kameez, perfect for the hot dry and dusty Jaipur summer but indeed not very sexy.  Made of cotton, it’s super light. The very very wide trousers make it possible to sit cross-legged for hours. And thanks to the dupatta (stole), you can move and bend forward to examine stones without revealing anything of your anatomy.

and diamonds bestowed on me by maharajas.

Of course, I wish I was dripping in diamonds. Sadly I had to give everything back when I took the shocking liberty to dump the so-called maharaja who had given them to me between two fits of drunken rage. Since it was rather a case of running for my life, I was more than happy to send the rocks back. As good old Nietzsche says, “there is no price too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.”

...Ordering servants around.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am going through a helpless phase. The tattoed witch left me and I have not had the time to search for a replacement. As a result, and as utterly extravagant as it sounds, I make my bed every morning, mop the floor and cook my meals.  Yes, I fucking hate it.

Playing with piles of semi-precious gems

Playing with piles of semi-precious stones is certainly part of my reality. I do sit for hours in spartan white rooms drinking chai while straining my eyes over piles of gems. There is no fan, otherwise the paper bags go flying. And there is no air con because for some reason these guys, even though they own six factories and twelve villages, love to pretend they’re slumming it. Accessing these rooms often involves climbing up very windy stairs and treading over collapsing roofs. But yes, I guess if I’m wearing white, there is an element of glamour to my matching the color scheme.

…and drinking bellinis in the cool marble shade of summer palaces.

If you overlook the fact that they make it with syrup instead of peach juice, yes, I’ll give that one to you, I am a sucker for bellinis.

8 Responses to “Of Gems, Nietzsche and Bellinis”

  1. Vancouverblogreader Says:

    peut etre pas une “glamourous life” mais une realite pas comme la notre ce qui la rend plus attrayante a nos yeux non?

  2. Vancouverblogreader Says:

    oh la, faut que j’arrete avec la celestamine, je ne me comprends meme pas. Ca doit etre tout de meme chouette de travailler avec des pierres semi-precieuses. Bonne journee (et puis, bonne nuit pour moi.)

  3. Sunny Side Says:

    Up and down … “no price too high to pay for the privilège of owning yourself”. The fact is “Do you ENJOY to be there ? Do you ENJOY to create jewels ?” Are you loving your job ? If you don’t… leave … if yes … life is a circle … In Musée Guimet I have seen a movie/documentary ” the story of one incredible Cartier necklace” and how they found the yellow diamond hidden in a swiss bank !!! It took almost 30 years to find it ! It was a cycle of movies about partition etc …

  4. Vancouverblogreader Says:

    Sunny Side: I thought the quote was referring to the price of being free of the crazy bf non?

  5. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    @ Vancouverblogreader: yes! the quote was referring to the psycho bf!
    @ Sunny Side: I love my job! And I love my life! Well, there are days “without”, of course, but not that many…

  6. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    @ vancouverblogreader: you are right, it’s a different life and I do love it, I guess what I meant was that underneath the exotica there is sweat and dust!

  7. Sunny Side Says:

    If your heart is happy to be there so no problem ! Sorry if I misunderstood !

  8. vancouver Says:

    Oui, ca se sent que tu aimes ta vie. Ma soeur vit elle aussi dans un pays “exotique” pas tres loin de toi d’ailleurs. Bien que ce ne soit pas toujours facile, elle aime beaucoup.


Leave a Reply

