Holy Liquor

February 17, 2009

Chalice

I just went to church for the first time in India. Victoria is getting married and we have to act like we’re part of the community for a couple of months or, Father Something told us, he won’t marry them.

The mass wasn’t unlike a catholic mass: hymns, readings, sermon, pax christi, communion, more hymns. We were asked to pray for the Chief Minister, the Prime Minister, the President, the Superintendant of Police, the Jaipur Development Authority and the Chief Officer for Customs and Excise. I guess it was a kind thought.

The only part of the service that left me in a haze of wonder and disgust is the communion. We were all made to kneel down and, after taking the host, made to drink from the same chalice.

Now, hey, I am not one of these fussy little sissy girls. But drinking from the same glass than a whole church full of strangers?

On a Sunday morning: God only knows where people put their mouths on Saturday nights.

Gross.

Then it was tea time with the community. We were agressed by some strange Danish man who looked high. He came up to the priest and started telling some story about Keith Richards and Mick Jagger. Then he sang.

I don’t know what.

I was busy telling Father Something that his preach was fa-sci-na-ting.

 

4 Responses to “Holy Liquor”

  1. gui Says:

    Hahahahhaha!!! Greek orthodoxs all drink from the same chalice. I’m catholic…we don’t do that…🙂

  2. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    Hey Gui!
    I’m catholic too…and I had never seen this – not that I go to church often in France!
    Thanks for the tip about Greek orthodoxs, I’ll be careful next time I go there. But I believe their masses are spectacular, aren’t they?
    XX
    J


  3. Well my little secret weapon, everything has gone to plan and we’re good to go – subject to a few ‘necessary’ fees and charges of course. All we have to do now is prepare your reading, and of course the outfit!

  4. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    Milady D,
    I was trying to protect your identity in case Father (keep forgetting) is connected…But yeah, I doubt it.
    I’m glad the plan is on: well done!
    Are we allowed to choose readings now?!?! What did Olivia do to squeeze this out?
    Can’t wait for next Sunday…
    and thanks for your comment!!
    XX


Leave a Reply

