A Year in Rajasthan

November 4, 2009

ElephantandGirl

Yes, it its true, I have been deserting my much-loved blog. I am so sorry!

The reason is, I simply don’t have time. I am overworked, and although being busy with work is an exhilarating feeling, I do miss my daily blogging break. 

But today is a special day: exactly a year ago I wrote my first post.

I remember it so well.

I had just been kicked out of my flat, lost my job and was going through a bitter and painful breakup. My ex-boss was refusing to pay my severance fee, I was broke, and sleeping on a mattress on the floor of my new flat, I went paler and paler wondering what I was going to do with my life, my heart and the 35 cardboard boxes scattered around the flat. I remember it so well.

That’s when I started this blog. 

It gave my days a structure – I would write first thing in the morning. And it made me happy. The amazing feedback I got was unexpected and wonderful.

Now it’s been a year and how things have changed. After months of fighting, I finally got my severance fee. I designed, sold, produced and exported my first line of jewellery. I have my own company in India, complete with hundreds of codes, numbers, certificates and bill books. I don’t date Indian men anymore. And my flat might not be spectacular, but it’s pretty, cosy and colorful. And it has beds.

Dear reader, my apologies for this display of self-satisfaction, believe me I am not fishing for compliments here. I am just truly, genuinely, completely amazed. It is incredible what can happen, in only a year, if you fight for it. 

Oh, and since November 4th 2008, this blog has registered 32,854 hits. That’s 1,314 times more than what I would have ever dreamt of.

Thank you!

11 Responses to “A Year in Rajasthan”

  1. YVR Says:

    truly happy for you.
    bonne continuation en esperant que tu auras un peu plus de temps pour blogger.

  2. purplebrinjal Says:

    i love reading your blog, and have missed your daily posts about life in india!

    your present life sounds wonderful. it’s amazing how you managed to turn your life around within a year. so inspirational :)

  3. Lisette Says:

    When you have accomplished so much in such a relatively short period of time – especially after such harsh moments – it is perfectly ok to stop and look back…

    Well done Jasmine and congratulations on your achievements!

    Selfishly, I hope you will continue to find a little bit of time each day to delight us with your stories of Rajastan – they always bring a smile to my face while I am starting my day…

  4. jasmineandtheelephants Says:

    Thank you thank you thank you!
    I will try and find a balance btw daily posts and hibernation…. What about 2 posts a week??

  5. gui Says:

    non non… 2 posts a week?!? Et bravo pour tout le reste. Happy monday

  6. Sunny Side Says:

    Waaoohhh happy to read you again and congratulation for your strengh ! You overcome difficulties and have your own business !!! I am so happy for you and i wonder what your lovely granny would say about it !!! I am crazy in love with Gregory Colbert’s pics ! You choose one so prayerful ! Ok for two posts !

  7. Sunny Side Says:

    Heeloo Jasmine t’avais dit deux pots !!!

  8. Sunny Side Says:

    Honorine sort du corps de Jasmine !!! Elle nous avait promis deux posts …

  9. YVR Says:

    so no posts? how about one every other week then? no? ok then…
    I miss your blog. I hope you’ll come back.

  10. Sunny Side Says:

    Juste un DERNIER avant la fin de l’année ! Et après … new style … new life …

  11. Namrata Says:

    Hello Jasmine

    I’m a South African who happened to come across your blog accidently. I have enjoyed reading a number of your posts; they are very well written. It is a pity that you have not continued writing.

    All the best
    x


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

