Holiday Season

September 25, 2009

diwali

 

The reason, well one of the reasons why I was sulking is that Gossip Girl season 3 is out. And it sucks. 

The girls are wearing crap clothes, the intrigue is about as thrilling as a boiled potato and the overall urge to slap the characters has now taken over the outraged, confusing fascination seasons 1 & 2 managed to convey.

I want to cry.

To make up for it, I have bought books. Oh yes, lots of them. Because although I have a TV, you won’t be surprised to know that I don’t know how to use it. 

But why, will you ask, am I in desperate need of entertainment?

Because, my friends, Diwali is looming on the horizon. Diwali, the Hindu New Year, with its firecrackers, endless parties, extravagant gambling sessions, shopping frenzy, Las Vegas street lights, constant ringing bells and echoeing prayers, Diwali with its madness, its overwhelming spirituality and sickening materialism, Diwali, the one and only, is coming up.

On the 17th of October.

To my mild amusement, the workers have already disappeared. The Bengalis have gone en masse to celebrate Durga Puja. The Muslims have not come back from Eid. And the Hindus have switched the pre-holiday gear. For the next month, it will be very, very difficult to get any work done. 

Just about as difficult as getting me to watch TV.

Hence, I am stocking up on books.

Anyone for a mountain trip?

4 Responses to “Holiday Season”

  1. Sunny Side Says:

    Oh te revoilà t’as manqué ! Manali ? Darjeeling ?

  2. Lisette Says:

    Ah, you´re back at last to bring a smile to my lips while I enjoy my breakfast… if you need more books, I have plenty to send if you´ll pay the postage!!

  3. Sunny Side Says:

    Que se passe-t-il ? Are you fed up ? Did you escape from India because of Diwali ? Hope you are OK !!!

  4. Sunny Side Says:

    Bientôt le Jour “D” où es-tu cachée ???


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

